Wednesday, February 10, 2010

So did UConn actually get screwed against Syracuse?

For the third time in three weeks, a Big East game ends with a controversial call that affected the outcome of the game.

Last night, UConn rallied back from a 16 point deficit to tie their game with Syracuse at 67. The Orange had the ball with under a minute left, and after a timeout missed a shot off of a diagrammed play. But the Orange came up with the offensive rebound, getting the ball in the hands of Scoop Jardine with under 40 seconds left.

But Jardine inexplicably decided to drive and force up a contested lay-up despite having the new shot clock and a chance to hold for the final shot.

UConn blocked Jardine's attempt, and the ball ended up in Stanley Robinson's hands. But referee John Cahill awarded Jim Boeheim a timeout. Take a look at the replay and decide for yourself:



From my perspective, it appears pretty clear that the timeout was awarded after Robinson had possession of the ball. Andy Katz dug a little deeper, speaking to a veteran official about the call:

According to the veteran official, the rule he cited was: Rule 5, Section 10, Art. 4, page 93. The rule states: “The game clock and shot clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official: grants a coach’s or player’s visual or oral request for a time out." Rule 5, Section 12, Art. 1, page 95 adds: “No timeouts shall be granted: unless there is a player control by the requesting team." The official said you can also cite Rule 5, Section 13, Art. 1, on page 96. “A timeout shall be granted and charged after a player or head coach makes a visual or oral request and when a player of that team is in control of the ball."
The question becomes when did Cahill grant the timeout?

Clearly, looking at the video, he granted the timeout after Jardine had shot the ball and Robinson had gained possession.

But watching the game live, it seemed like Boeheim had been trying to call a timeout before Jardine took the shot, which is probably why Cahill granted the timeout. If Cahill doesn't give Syracuse that timeout, and UConn goes down and wins at the other end, you can bet that Syracuse fans would have been just as mad as UConn fans are tonight.

So did Cahill make the right call?

By the letter of the rule book, no. But he probably made the correct decision. So settle down, Husky fans. Cahill's timeout didn't force Sticks to foul Wes Johnson, and it didn't force Jerome Dyson to jack up a 25 footer with 20 seconds left.

While a bad break on a call didn't exactly help the Huskies cause, getting down by 16, not getting a stop in the final 30 seconds, and forcing a bad shot before they had too is what really cost the Huskies this game.

This is the third time in recent weeks that a call has so closely influenced the outcome of a game. On Jan. 22nd, the refs ignored Keon Lawrence stepping inbounds after a made basket by Louisville. Then two Saturday's ago, West Virginia caught a break against Louisville when referee Mike Kitts ignored the rulebook when determining possession on an out-of-bounds call.

4 comments:

Anonymous said...

You're asking for chaos in college basketball if you start saying that referees can ignore the rules and instead make arbitrary decisions about what they believe is proper. That's exactly what you're doing in your blog. If a coach wants a timeout, they need to take it well before they see their player running down the lane about to make a stupid play. The same thing occurred with Rautins traveling a few plays before. Boeheim asked for timeout AFTER he was his player go to the ground.

Rob Dauster said...

I'm not saying they should ignore rules, per se. What I'm saying is that Cahill probably realized that Boeheim wanted the timeout while Jardine was driving, and didn't react in time to make the call before it was in Sticks' hands.

The bottom line is that no matter which way that call went, a fan base was going to be mad. It just so happened that UConn got the shit end of the stick last night.

Anonymous said...

The rule states that timeout shall be granted if called for while a member of the team calling for the timeout has possession of the ball. Which is what happened. Cahill may not have "granted" the timeout before Jardine lost possession, but it was called for before he lost it. Think about calling for a timeout just before you lose possession in a jump ball situation... Just because the whistle doesn't blow until after two guys have their hands on the ball doesn't mean the timeout shouldn't be granted.

Anonymous said...

I think the rule analysis above is correct. What matters is when Boeheim verbally or visually called the timeout.

The official recognition of the timeout MAY only apply to the time at which the clock is stopped.

But wht I really don't understand is how UConn can have so many losses with the talent it has.